daily eats: chocolate + cherry overnight oats

by b

Let’s talk about breakfast for a hot minute.
Quick, name off five breakfast foods!

How many of them are vegan?

….yeah, that’s pretty much how I felt.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a big bowl of toasty-o’s with almond milk and a banana  (or strawberries), and a smoothie is fantastic. But were are my savory breakfast foods?? It’s been a tough adjustment, to say the least.  Yes, I can make a tofu scramble or vegan pancakes, but these oats are easy to make, minimal prep time, no cook time, hardly any dishes, and I can make several batches to store in my fridge for a grab-and-go situation. Plus, they are so, so versatile! You can make them sweet (think chocolate cherry or strawberry), or something more savory (cinnamon apple or pumpkin!). Seriously, the possibilities are endless. Here is the basic recipe for vegan overnight oats, tried and true. Be sure to check out the rest of Angela’s overnight oats for inspiration, she’s got some great ideas!

So, when I posted this photo on instagram, it was quickly followed by requests for the recipe. And who wouldn’t want to make this mouth-watering deliciousness?

To take the recipe to the next level, I added a heaping tablespoon of cocoa powder to the mixture, stirred well, and refrigerated overnight. In the morning, I washed and pitted a few fresh cherries, and sprinkled them on top of the oats.

Oh yessss. It was devoured quite quickly.

I can’t wait to have these again.

Let’s talk nutrition now. Before you add any toppings, this dish serves up 9 grams of protein, 11 grams of fiber, and 9 grams of fat. You want something that will keep you full and energized? This will do the trick! I know the 9 grams of fat is a little scary, but that is mostly the healthy omegas from the chia seeds (soucre). As always, moderation is key; when I’m eating overnight oats, my fat intake is relatively low for the rest of the day. I encourage you to find a balance that works for you!

So, what are some combinations that you’d like to try?

I want to try peanut butter + jelly, mango strawberry, pumpkin (next fall, maybe!), and carob chip blueberry. Nom noms.

 

xx, b
P.S. – Expect to see a post soon on those vegan pancakes! They sounds delicioso.

